A Shadow

May 2, 2009 at 3:11 PM 2 comments

This poem won a contest on Poetry.com last year and was published in their anthology of new poets. This was the 6th time I was published. Hope you like it. Let me know…

 

A Shadow

As the moon gently floats cross the sky,
I catch the lilting twinkle of your eye.
A slight wink I cast across the room
A far off pass from my days of gloom.
You shrug me off and look away…
No lust, no love for me today.
I pushed you out to complete my change
Another lost love? or one never so strange?
I never knew where I stand or stood
We never really talked like two people should.
Promises made… kept, unkept… untold lies?
But you… I will never despise.
You thought you knew me but even I
Had no clue what lurked behind my eye.
I cannot, could not, get you to let loose
That sealed shut shell that gave me such blues.

Copyright ©2009  Kevin John Sievers
Entry filed under: Poetry. Tags: , , , , .

New Feature! Vidlinks From Funny Or Die! Everybody Should Read This…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. me2watson  |  May 2, 2009 at 4:30 PM

    I am here to let me know,
    that I’m putting you on notice.
    Promise! “…sealed, shut shell”
    got me linguistically tongue-tied.

    Hey, now! Don’t let it go to your head.
    Stay hungry! Uncle Tree

    Reply
    • 2. Kevin  |  May 3, 2009 at 1:03 AM

      Thanx…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Where to Find Me

Poetry Thoughts Uncategorized

